University Library


Libraries and Units

Main Library

This is the central library which also supports the branch libraries or school libraries. The units in the main Library are generally classified into Library Administration, the Readers’ Services Division, the Technical Services Division and the School Libraries.

Units in the Main Library

Reference Unit (Readers’ Services Division)

This Unit houses material intended for consultation only and not for circulation (lending out). The Unit’s stock is about 2,085 titles. Services rendered by the unit are:

  • Response to directional and other queries
  • Referral services
  • Access to reference sources (Reading services)
  • Student internship
  • Managing out-of university patrons; and
  • Stack management
  • Orientation of Students

Cataloguing and Classification Unit (Technical Services Division)

This unit is responsible for the descriptive cataloguing and classification of all library resources which include print or non-print materials. Classified materials are given call marks in accordance to the area of human knowledge to which they belong.Other activities carried out include original and copy cataloguing, database maintenance, authority cataloguing and control, bibliographic control, creating multiple access points for materials, filing of cards,updating of the OPAC and Catalogue cabinet maintenance and management.

Circulation Unit (Reader’s Services Division)

The circulation Unit is the enquiry desk of the reader. The Unit is responsible for registration, renewal and clearance of students for the library. They handle the circulation (loans) and patron records of the library. The Unit ensures that the shelves are in good order for easy access and retrieval of information resources. They receive and manage overdue fines and send recall notices requesting readers to return any book on loan/ call notices informing readers of such requested materials. In addition, they manage the reserve collection.

Bindery Unit (Technical Services Division)

The unit is responsible for repairing damaged print material and reinforcing soft bound materals. They also render services to clients who require book repair services and project (theses) binding. They train SIWES student (Interns)

Multimedia Unit

The Centre houses microforms, audio-visual and multimedia materials and their equipment (hardware). The service rendered in this unit are twofold: educational services and social services. The services include: provision of audio-visual equipment and materials for academic purpose, individualized and group instructions, video and photographic coverage of all university programmes, maintenance of library equipment, mass production of CDs and DVDs, conversion of Video/Audio cassettes to CD/DVD, power presentation of all university programmes, consultancy services, lamination. For further information please contact Mr. Akeem (08060103092).

Porters Unit

The porters are responsible for the security of lives and property in the University library. To this end, they patrol the various sections of the library to ensure that library rules are kept. They check visitors coming in or going out of the library, and ensure that all physical facilities are in good condition. CCTV and cameras assist the porters with their job

Research Publications, Government Documents and Special Collections Unit

The unit houses locally published materials like, inaugural lectures, convocation proceedings, foundation lectures and annual lectures from FUTA. Publications which emanate from government agencies, ministries and parastatals are also kept in this collection. It houses a special collection of publications of the FAO (Food and Agricultural Organisation) of the United Nations. The University Library is a depository of FAO, therefore it also boasts of a rich collection of FAO reports and publications in various fields of agriculture ranging from agricultural economics, to food security, fishery and other aspects. The Government Publication and Special documents Unit may conveniently be referred to as the archive of the University. They are on closed access status and only accessible directly to teaching staff and postgraduate students only.

e-Resources Unit

This Unit manages all the digital components of the University library. These include :

The OPAC (Online Public Access Catalogue)

The Computer Laboratory

The electronic databases

The E-Libraries located in various schools

The Institutional Repository and all other computers and accessories located in the various units of the library. Their responsibilities include technical support, consultancy, repairs and maintenance of the digital components of the Library, liaison with the Computer Resource Center, installation of softwares and training.

Library Administration

Albert Ilemobade Library Administration is headed by the University Librarian, Dr B.O. Gbadamosi, supported by the Deputy University Librarians. All the Units are administered from the University Librarian’s office. The Library Administration handles internal and external administrative matters of the library including decision making and implementation, planning, policy making, resource management, supervision and ensuring general discipline of the staff.


The Branch Libraries or School Libraries as they are referred to, were established in 2006 to increase student and faculty access to information at school level. The School Libraries are well provided for with information resources such as textbooks, journals and modern ICT resources, as well as conducive reading environment. The E-libraries in the School are also well equipped and networked to enable access to the databases in the e-Resources Unit in the Main Library.

Part of the aim of the School libraries is to supplement what is available in the Main Library. Qualified and experienced library personnel are also in charge of the libraries in the schools.

The School Libraries are found in the seven schools. The collection and the resources are current and geared to the specific curriculum needs of the schools. They include:

The School of Science Library (SOS)

The School of Engineering and Engineering Technology Library (SEET)

The School of Agriculture and Agricultural Technology Library (SAAT)

The School of Environmental Technology Library (SET)

The School of Earth and Mineral Sciences Library (SEMS)

The School of Management Technology Library (SMAT)

The School of Health and Health Technology (SHHT)

The School of Postgraduate Studies Library (PG